Wisps

Blink,
and I promise,
I’ll be gone.

Before the morning sun rises and
dawn breaks over the mountaintops,
I’ll have left your side.

This life is too short,
for commitments and vows;
they’re all weightless words.

You cannot tie down a bird
with simple commands,
clip its wings
and still, it will try.

Precarious seconds such as these,
I cannot afford to waste;
each one must be tasted.

I used to think it was the others passing me by
now I know its because they cannot keep up,
they’re all rooted in place,
while I refuse not to fidget.

Wings make for loneliness
but is companionship worthy of freedom’s cost?

Life is a series of call and response 
But in the moment between the inhale and exhale,
I am gone.

Leave a Reply

