The List of Extraordinary Things

I never guessed that in my life,

I would live inside a national forest for 2 years
I would move to Florida for school
I would write a letter to Morgan Freeman.

I didn’t think I would live on my own before I was 21
or would have a full-time job before I went to college.

I never thought I would be ok with having a hole in my eardrum, sure it makes hearing hard sometimes but I’ve learned it’s not the end of the world.

I never thought a rope swing would break my finger.

I wouldn’t have guessed that I would learn to french braid hair
or memorize an entire book of the Bible in 9 months.

If you had asked me if I ever thought I would become best friends
with my old roommate, whose guts I used to hate,
I would’ve told you no.

That I would have traveled to:
Haiti,
the Dominican Republic,
Israel,
Mexico,
Canada,
and New Zealand.

I never thought I would be a boss at 20.

I didn’t think I could ever be a chef for people with food allergies
or have the courage to bungee jump off a bridge and into a river.

I didn’t think I would ever become a writer, let alone be one that is quoted by colleagues.

I never thought I would have the power to inspire others and challenge them.

I never thought I would be this extraordinary
but here I am
and here I go.

Leave a Reply

